Step by step tutorial for using the Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV — part I: absolute minimum to get you started

Arindam Basu
7 min readNov 14, 2020

… what they do not tell you in the manuals, there is a learning curve to using this vehicle.

Got myself a Mitsubishi outlander phev and just learning to drive it is a steep learning curve. It is a fantastic vehicle but it is not an easy car to get used to or even starting to drive right away. It’s not like the car salesman hands you the keys, you jump in, put the key in the ignition slot, start the car, adjust your seat and off you go. First of all, there are no keys! Hence, I have decided to compile things that I am still learning, and some tips and tricks. I will add in videos, etc, but mind you, unless you actually get into the car and start driving.

There is so much to learn about this car. The car came with a 500+ page manual, and I did tldr; and dived right into the most important aspects of learning about the car. Here is a compilation, it will flatten your learning curve. If you spot errors or additions, etc, please let me know.

Top tip: sign up and use this public forum where you can ask and answer questions about outlander PHEV

Bookmark this site. You will absolutely need it.

https://www.myoutlanderphev.com/forum/index.php

First of all, locking and unlocking the car isn’t as straightforward as many of us think (or at least I…

--

--

Arindam Basu

Medical Doctor and an Associate Professor of Epidemiology and Environmental Health at the University of Canterbury. Founder of TwinMe,